A fleet of missed opportunities
Raging in their hunger for revenge
Seek shelter in my bones
From the unexpected torrent of regret I’m feeding them 

This is a game
Of vengeance 

My role here is to fail miserably
To concede to this fiery fleet
Accept my defeat
My faults
Without offering explanations 

Explanations
Tend to dull the satisfaction of revenge
Put a lid
On the amount of appropriate violence 

“We don’t want that
We don’t want to stop”

Cut
Torn
Weakened

Black-eyed disaster

Thread of life,
Shredded 

One hundred seconds to live 

The fleet grins
At corpses of their unborn kin
Lying exposed under my skin 

A droplet of tragedy has been sucked out from this world

Opportunities,
You will be missed. 

Leave a Reply

